2019-2020 Executive Board Members


david mackey, President

David A. Mackey is a Professor of Criminal Justice at Plymouth State University.  He received his Bachelor of Science and Masters of Arts degrees in Criminal Justice from the University of Massachusetts Lowell.  He earned his Ph.D. in Criminology from Indiana University of Pennsylvania. He is a lifetime member of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences and NEACJS.  He is also a member of the American Society of Criminology. He co-edited Crime Prevention, published by Jones and Bartlett, with Kristine Levan of the University of Idaho.  His research interests include criminal justice education, technology and justice, and search and seizure.  He received the Northeastern Association of Criminal Justice Sciences Regional Fellow’s Award in 2011.


Sheri van horne, 1st Vice President

Dr. Van Horne received her B.A.s from Rutgers University (majoring in Psychology, Sociology and then German) and her M.A. and Ph.D. in Criminal Justice from Rutgers University’s School of Criminal Justice. She has also worked in the Criminal Justice field evaluating criminal justice related prevention programs, and working in the Planning Department for the Jersey City Police. Dr. Van Horne’s professional presentations and publications focus primarily on domestic violence issues, media portrayals of crime, and pedagogical research and scholarship, with her most recent interest in policing.


Philip J. Verrecchia, 2nd Vice President


Shavonne Arthurs, Secretary

Shavonne Arthurs is an Assistant Professor and the Coordinator of the Criminal Justice Program at Seton Hill University in Greensburg, Pennsylvania. She is additionally the head of the Criminal Justice Program. She received her Ph.D. in Criminology from Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP), M.S. in Psychology from Arizona State University, and M.S. in Forensic Science & Law from Duquesne University. In addition to her secretary position within NEACJS, she is the current 1st Vice President of the Pennsylvania Association of Criminal Justice Educators (PACJE), the 2nd Vice Chair of the Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship section of ACJS, and is also a member of the American Society of Criminology (ASC) and the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS). She currently teaches in areas of courts, corrections, program and policy analysis, behavioral analysis, theory, deviance, research methods, and statistics. Her research interests are in the areas of drug and alcohol abuse, jury decision making, policing, and social deviance. She has a recent co-authored publication in the Journal of Sexual Aggression.


Jane Tucker, Treasurer 


Michael Antonio, Director At Large


David myers, Director At Large


Stever dyer, Immediate past President 

Thomas College



Massachusetts State Representative: Jason Paynich, Quincy College
New York State Representative: Daniel Culver, Hilbert College
Pennsylvania State Representative:  Cassandra Reyes, West Chester University
Vermont State Representative: David Orrick, Norwich University

Parliamentarian: Larry Rosenberg